Vijay Hazare Trophy: Krunal Panyda Smashes Ton for Baroda; Sreesanth Bags Fifer After 15 Years

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Krunal Panyda Smashes Ton for Baroda; Sreesanth Bags Fifer After 15 Years

It was another eventful day in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, where as many as 18 teams were in action. Once again there were few notable performances, and Cricketnext takes a look at some of them.

ALSO READ – IPL Auction 2021: New Zealand Players Overlooked for “Second Rate Australians”, Says Simon Doull

R Samarth Smashes 156 for Karnataka

Karnataka skipper R Samarth looked in fine nick against Bihar as the former smashed 158 in 144 balls. Karnataka displayed an all-round game and beat the opponents by a massive 291 runs. Other stars of the match were Devdutt Padikkal, who scored 97, and Pradish Krishna, who bagged four wickets for his team.

Sreesanth Bags Fifer, Kerala Post Win

Team Kerala has been in top form this tournament, and so has been S Sreesanth. The 37-year-old returned with figures of 5/65 against UP to bundle them out for 283. Kerala chased down this target with three wickets to spare. Opener Robin Uthappa top-scored with 81, while Sachin Baby scored 76.

Shahbaz Nadeem All-round Show Takes Jharkhand to Win

Left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem proved his worth once again as his all-round display took Jharkhand to two run victory over Punjab. After their batting struggled, he struck 45 from 40 balls, to take the score to 217-9. Later on with the ball, he returned with figures of 2-36, to seal the match for his side. Ishan Kishan flopped in this match though and scored only 4.

ALSO READ – India vs England: WTC is Like World Cup for me, Want to Help Team Qualify for Final – Ishant Sharma

Baroda Skipper Krunal Pandya Hammers 127

Krunal Pandya scored a crucial 127 off 97 balls, while chasing down 303 against Tripura. He was ably supported by Vishnu Solanki, who smashed 97 and struck a partnership of 178 with the senior Pandya. The duo bailed their side out of trouble, when the chips were down at 13/2. In the end, Baroda won by six wickets.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *